totop Web development for the non-profit world *

Join the iWith team

Headline news

WSA honors the World’s Best in e-Content and Innovation: Mexico hosts the Gala events from September 2-5, 2009

The World Summit Award (WSA) and the World Summit Youth Award Winners Celebrations take place in Monterrey from September 2-5, 2009 in collaboration with the UN GAID’s Global Forum.

The four-day celebrations in Mexico will provide a unique opportunity to meet and connect with WSA and WSYA winners, ICT experts, business leaders, multimedia producers and young creatives as well as government and business leaders who will be giving their recognition to the showcased best practice examples:

o At the WSA Winners Conference the 40 WSA Winners teams selected from around 20.000 applications from all over the world will take stage to present their awarded projects.
o The WSA and WSYA Gala Celebration is the highlight of the entire WSA process 2008/09 and a unique ceremony to honor excellence in multimedia and e-Content creation.
o The Content Caves are an exhibition offering a platform to present the world’s best practice examples of innovation in e-Content.

The global contest on creativity generated content is taking place every two years as a follow-on activity to the UN World Summit on Information Society. This year 545 national finalists from the United Nations Member States were selected by 34 eminent e-Content experts in New Delhi.

The submitted projects from 157 countries participating in the 4th edition of the WSA were nominated in one of the eight WSA categories to receive global acknowledgement as the world’s Best in e-Content. Australia, Austria, Canada and New Zealand dominate this years winners list.

The WSA is a global not-for-profit activity promoting the most outstanding achievements as a flagship partnership initiative of the UN’s Global Alliance for ICT and Development and inclose collaboration with UNESCO, UNIDO, ISOC and a world wide network of partners.

WSA was started as an Austrian initiative in the framework of the United Nations World Summit on Information Society in 2003. Today, it is the world’s leading contest for excellence and creativity and e-Content production and a global hub dedicated to closingthe digital content divide and narrowing the content gap between different regions of the world. Key sponsors of the WSA include the global Internet Society and Indigo Brainmedia – the leading and most innovative digital magazine from Latin America, which won the WSA in the e-Entertainment category in 2007 and since then entered into a long term visionary as the main supporter and sponsor.


The World Summit Award (WSA) was started in 2003 as part of the UN’s World Summit on the Information Society. It is a global initiative to select and promote the world’s best  e-Content and innovative ICT applications; to date 157 countries are actively involved.

Through national contests and a global jury process, WSA demonstrates the local diversity and rich creativity of ICT use. WSA is a global hub for everyone who values the  crucial importance of local content to make today’s information society more inclusive.


Prof. Peter A. Bruck, WSA Chairman, Austria

Cordula Schmidt
Public Relations
phone: +43 662 63 04 08 45

Arrangements for contacting Professor Peter A. Bruck may be made through Cordula Schmidt.

More about: ngo , internet , UN , monterrey , summit , WSA , gaid
Latest News


Google + Facebook Twitter Youtube Rss